Sunday, August 21, 2016

Most recent countries

A short post. I thought I would list all the countries that have been formed since my birth in 1984. This is useful for anyone doing research on historical statistics, as these countries would have been counted as part of another country prior to their formation.

Countries in [Square Brackets], while "countries" during this period, were under occupation or other forms of control that my impact their international standing during this period. The date that this ended is noted; along with the date it began if after 1984:

South Sudan (from Sudan)

Montenegro (Serbia and Montenegro)
Serbia (Serbia and Montenegro)

Timor-Leste (Indonesia)

[Palau] (US/UN Protectorate)

From (Soviet Union) Breakup: Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.
From (Yugoslavia) breakup: Macedonia, Bosnia, Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia and Montenegro.
[Kuwait] (Iraqi annexation) [began: 1990]

Eritrea (Ethiopia)
Czechia (Czechoslovakia)
Slovakia (Czechoslovakia)

Germany (East Germany, and West Germany)
Yemen (North Yemen, and South Yemen)
Namibia (South Africa)

[Cambodia] (Vietnamese Occupation)

[Micronesia] (US/UN Protectorate)
[Marshall Islands] (US/UN Protectorate)

These are only states with overwhelming recognition. As such, Kosovo, recognized by 109 UN members, and Palestine, recognized by 139, are not on this list. If included, Kosovo would be listed under 2008, and Palestine would be in square brackets under the date "present". Joining Palestine would be Western Sahara, which was recognized by 84 UN members at one point or another, and 47 at current. The Peoples Republic of China, with recognition from 172 UN members, was considered to have "overwhelming" recognition and so is included, but does not quality for any positions on this list. Taiwan, with only 21 members recognizing it, however, does not, but would not qualify for any positions on this list. Cyprus, Armenia, South Korea, and North Korea, which are each recognized by a different set of 192 of the 193 UN members, are on the list but do not qualify. Abkhazia, South Ossetia, and Northern Cyprus, each recognized by under 10 UN members, are not counted. Nagorno-Karabakh, and Transnistria are recognized by 0 UN members, but are recognized by states which UN members recognize. Somaliland is not recognized by any other nation, but is the only other entity of any sort, not mentioned in this paragraph, to have any level of serious diplomatic recognition from UN members.

No comments:

Post a Comment